Alphabet Bands – The premise

5 Jan

Hi, and welcome to this, the first entry in an ongoing project. I have once again eschewed New Years Resolutions but will be embarking on trying to achieve 101 things in 1001 days. Ok, so at present I have only managed to think of 51 things but you know, there’s a reason I describe myself as a procrastinator.

One of my 101 (51) things is to listen to 26 new bands, one for each letter of the alphabet, hence the title of this blog. Here I will be recording the bands I have found and my thoughts on each one. Now, I’ve already found multiple bands for the same letter so this is clearly going to result in much more than just 26 bands. Sweet.

So far I’ve managed three; Them Crooked Vultures (T), The XX (X) and Metric (M). Each quite different and each enjoyable in their own way.

Them Crooked Vultures is the latest side project/supergroup to hit the globe. Dave Grohl, Josh Homme and John Paul Jones have joined forces to make what is some pretty decent rock. Now, this is only day two of the 1001 and, as I have a very young and demanding daughter I have only listened to each of these once but first impressions are good.

Guardian Online readers voted XX by The XX as their album of the year so naturally, needing an X, I gave it a whirl. Hmmm, needs more than one go I reckon. Understated, stripped down and seemingly somewhat delicate it’s probably not one for the car but certainly a potential slow burner.

Metric have provided tunes for the upcoming Scott Pilgrim versus the World film (Edgar Wright directing, Michael Cera trying not to play the same old character once again) and are described by Empire magazine as a uber cool Canadian band. Again, needs more listening (god bless Spotify) and I may be doing them a disservice but my initial thoughts are, bit like Death Cab for Cutie.

I’ll update once I’ve actually listened properly and give each a full review. Please feel free to leave suggestions in the comment section below.

Ok, final random thought: 2009, Yeah Yeah Yeahs finally live up to the hype. I didn’t really see what the fuss was about before but apparently all they needed to do was add a keyboard and its all good. Seriously, Zero was one of the tracks of the year.

Hopefully next time I’ll be a bit more coherent and interesting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,229 other followers

