Tag Archives: Delphic

Listen: Delphic – “Good Life”

19 Jul

It feels like forever (two and a half years to be exact) since we first got ridiculously overexcited by the debut album from Manchester electro denizens, Delphic. Now, at last, they have returned with a huge track that takes the band on from where Acolyte left off, and looks to fill a stadium with its anthemic sound.

An Olympic stadium to be precise as the new single, “Good Life” is one of many to be chosen to soundtrack this summer’s sporting extravaganza. It’s not surprising really, close your eyes and imagine a slickly edited athletics montage as you listen.

Smiling athletes, tense athletes, sportsmen and women all enjoying the moment of being in good old London town. “We wait/we wait/we wait/we wait” they sing, and the athletes wait with us before the track explodes into life and the footage will change to actual hard-fought competition. Winners and losers, glorious failures and soaring successes, all backed by the band’s customary euphoric synths, high energy guitars and precision drum patterns. It’s a brilliant, uplifting track, almost as if Delphic and the Olympics were made for each other.

Welcome back guys, it’s been too long, now can we have album number two please?

“Good Life” is released on 23 July and can be pre-ordered from iTunes now.

Stalk Delphic
Facebook / Twitter / Website / Soundcloud

Read More
Oh boy, this is good – Delphic Review

Listen: Safari AA Single – “Doubt” / “Are We Ready”

22 Feb

It may just be the time of year, with the cold and the dark and the cold, but we’ve found ourselves listening to and enjoying, much more languid, melancholic and even somnolent music. With that in mind, Safari are like a bolt of light shining through the gloom (and the cold).

The mood of their high tempo electronica is the complete antithesis of how people generally feel during this late winter period. It’s upbeat, urgent, bright and laden with some pretty darn glorious hooks. Now, it doesn’t take a genius to note that they do sound a reasonable amount like a number of other artists who have trodden a similar path in recent years; Delphic springs immediately to mind. But you know what? We don’t care. We bloody love Delphic and Safari offer similar laser beam beats and synths.

The new AA side single “Doubt” / “Are We Ready” comes out on 27 February via Sons-of-Stereo Recordings (SSR1) and you can hear it below. Go on, get out the glow sticks and prepare for a little summer disco heaven in the winter.

Reasons to be cheerful, 2012.

1 Jan

Like most sites, we’ve spent a reasonable amount of time looking back at 2011, but, the year is now nothing more than history, like Katy Perry and Russell Brand, it’s done now. Sure we’ll look back with fondness at some parts but there can be no denying that it is over, finito, ended, finished, defunct, obsolete, history.

So goodbye 2011, it was fun while it lasted, but now we look ahead. Like a sea captain gazing out to the horizon, staring out at what lies ahead, and more importantly, what there is to get excited about. Rather than drag out the lame analogies and similes, here is a list of artists we are looking forward to hearing more from in 2012, because people love lists.

  • The Avalanches
  • We could make a joke using their album title, Since I Left You, about how long it’s been but quite frankly, we’re too excited at the prospect of their return to come up with any lame puns.

  • Juan Zelada
  • Juan has come such a long way since we first saw him in Hoxton at the end of 2010 and yet he remains as humble and charming as ever. Look out for our interview with him in the next few days.

  • Conveyor
  • One of our favourite new finds of 2011, their EP was in our Top 5 of the year and we can’t wait for a full length release.

  • Lana Del Rey
  • Hipster backlash be damned, Ms Del Rey has released some fine little pop songs. Will the album live up to the promise of her singles? We’ll find out soon enough.

  • Kites
  • One of the most exciting new bands in the UK right now, hopefully we will get confirmation of a record deal for the guys soon and a full album later in the year.

  • Delphic
  • It’s been two long years since Acolyte but the boys have been talking on Twitter about their new tracks. Come on!

  • SUNBEARS! Vinyl
  • Possibly the most beautiful piece of wax we’ve ever seen.

  • Children of Pop
  • They’ve only released one track so far but it was a doozy.

  • Cutback
  • Norwich’s finest indie-rock trio. They told us last year that there were new tracks in the offing for 2012, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • …Of Diamonds
  • Another band from Norwich, three young ladies making brilliant harmonious synth-pop. We hope to catch them live soon.

  • The Lemonheads
  • Playing Its A Shame About Ray, live, and in full!! Oh yes.

    We can’t wait. Happy New Year everyone.

    Kites Release New Track: “This Jumped-Up Boy In Livery”

    22 Dec

    Yesterday Kites gave us all an early Christmas present when they released a brand new track, “This Jumped-Up Boy In Livery”, online. As we know from our chat with lead singer Matthew a few weeks ago, he values honesty in his music above almost everything, so it is not difficult to guess where “Jumped-Up Boy…” is coming from. It’s even less difficult when the singer himself posts accompanying messages like this one:

    “Never before have I had the audacity to pen lyrics that are so indulgently self-pitying – and, for me, that’s saying something. Let’s just say that it has been one of those months.”

    If the result will always be this delightful Matthew, we say do it more often. Like preceding single, ”Brother” the narrative is not only clear but framed in some very modern sounding retro synth melodies. There is a dash of Delphic about this track as well as just a pinch of the Human League, combining to make a truly intoxicating mixture.

    As for the indulgent self-pity, pah. The very best pop music is built on a foundation of introspection, insecurity and even a degree of self-loathing. We’d much rather hear that than brash, self indulgent glorification of success and celebrity. You went to the VIP section of the club again? That’s nice dear.

    Anyway, if Kites keep banging out tracks as sharp and entertaining as this, it could well be a long time before Matthew finds himself suffering “one of those months” again.

    “This Jumped-Up Boy In Livery” is available via Kites Soundcloud page and you can stream it below.

    Waylayers Debut Single: “Hear No Lies”

    15 Sep

    London three-piece Waylayers first came to our attention last year, when (randomly) they started following @alphabetbands on Twitter. Since then they have gathered more and more plaudits and now stand on the metaphorical eve of the release of their debut single, “Hear No Lies”.

    Out on Monday (19 September), it is an elegant, relaxed indie dance track, full of smooth keys and gives plenty of reason to be excited about the future for this up and coming young band. Think a more chilled out Morning Parade or Delphic.

    Tell us what you think in the comments section and follow the band on Twitter @waylayers. Follow @alphabetbands while you’re at it too.


    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,097 other followers