Oh boy, this is good – Delphic Review

11 Jan

Today I was going to write about Ellie Goulding. I spent much of the weekend listening to what limited tracks of hers are available in various locations online. I was going to write about Ellie Goulding but then I started to listen to Acolyte, the debut album by Delphic.

Naturally I reserve the right to change my mind at a later date (it has only been out a few hours after all so I’m only on my second listen as I write) but holy fuck I love it.

When I finally get round to writing about Them Crooked Vultures (I’m putting it off to be honest) I will no doubt talk about the impenetrable, self-indulgence of some of their tracks that ramble on for six mins plus for no discernable reason. The title track of the Delphic album, Acolyte, is just shy of nine minutes, Red Lights and Counterpoint both clock in at just over six each. Give a shit, they’re great. No self-indulgence here.

Now it may be that Acolyte is nothing more than the perfect antidote to a cold, tired Monday morning but this feels like life affirming stuff. Shamelessly upbeat and energetic I am actually feeling more positive and ready for the day ahead as a result of listening. This is what music is all about; it should penetrate your soul and affect or reflect your mood. I’m writing this on the train to London and I can honestly say that the two hours, undisturbed, that I am getting to listen to this is making the journey entirely worthwhile. Ok, enough script-based fellatio for the time being, you want to know about the album itself.

I haven’t seen the video to Counterpoint yet but I imagine it’s nothing more than a guy walking through the streets of London with a huge fucking grin on his face. I imagine this because it’s exactly what I want to be doing when I hear the track. Headphones in, coat pulled in tight against the cold, late night walk around London, snow falling gently around me with the lights and sounds spilling out onto the streets from various pubs, ending up meeting a group of friends for a drink in a warm and friendly hostelry with an awesome jukebox “Someone tell me nothing’s wrong today” – Seriously, nothing is.

Counterpoint comes towards the end of the album and it almost feels like the whole thing is building to this track. This is, in a way, supported by the fact that it is followed by Ephemera; a short, soft melodic come down of a track, providing time and space in which to breathe again before the gentle pick me up of Remain (think Discovery era Daft Punk) which is a relatively gentle but gorgeous song with soft vocals that caress you as you listen. Jesus, could I be any more in love with this album?

Quick aside, I just watched the video to Counterpoint, I was almost right! More fields and less smiling than I imagined, but still, there’s a fair bit of walking.

Anyway, back to it. This is an album that feels ultra modern yet deliciously retro at the same time. Melodic, full of pinpoint accurate electronic attacks on your senses blended with smooth synth-harmonies, Acolyte reaches back into the 80’s and channels the high points of both New Order and the Pet Shop Boys with some of U2’s anthemic pop thrown in for good measure. Yet I can’t quite pull away from that Daft Punk comparison either. Not entirely for the way the music sounds, (though they both blend electro dance and guitar based indie superbly. Don’t believe me about Daft Punk? Go listen to Robot Rock again.) more the way it makes you feel. Just like with the French duo’s second live album, Alive 2007, I can’t really stop my foot from tapping, my head from nodding and my finger from hitting repeat.

From the short, sharp intro of Clarion Call straight into the stunning Doubt and on to the seemingly West Wing inspired Red Lights (“I wouldn’t stop for red lights, I wouldn’t come up for air” echoes Donna telling Josh that if he was in an accident she wouldn’t stop for traffic lights. Yeah I’m a geek, what of it?), on through Acolyte, Halcyon, Submission and all the way up to the euphoric high of Counterpoint before the gentle come down as described above, this is an album that not only works as a collection of individual tracks but as an holistic entity in its own right. Even the remixes tacked on as extras are good, if a little too house for my usual taste.

This Momentary was the second single Delphic released last year and in it they call out “Let’s do something real” with Acolyte, this Manchester trio have done just that.

I may come back to this and revise my initial eulogy of just how damn good this is but as of now, don’t bother with Spotify, if you like any kind of dance music, go and buy it.

***UPDATE***

Don’t worry it’s still all good.

As I was listening to Acolyte for the second time yesterday, a thought started to permeate my subconscious. It became stronger during the third listen but I thought maybe it was just me. Then I saw that the lovely people at Gigwise had the same thought so I decided to share it.

There’s a real resonance with Bloc Party here. The vocals throughout Acolyte are quite reminiscent of Kele Okereke’s and as I started to think about it, it could almost be a companion piece to A Weekend In The City. Now obviously it’s not as explicitly about a weekend out and about but there is that kind of feeling about the whole thing. I touched on it above with everything building to a crescendo with Counterpoint and I now see a group of friends out clubbing and making their way home euphoric and shattered on the night bus. A nice night bus of course, not one with that drunk girl flopping about all over the seats, the guy near the back who looks like he’s either going to flash you or stab you and the tramp at the front who is the only one not to notice he’s pissed himself.

Anyway, I just thought I’d share that final thought, and it will be a final thought now. I’ve already bored everyone on twitter half to death by going on about Delphic. I’ll stop now. Back to Ellie Goulding, tomorrow maybe.

9 Responses to “Oh boy, this is good – Delphic Review”

  1. Jessie Hutchings January 11, 2010 at 21:47 #

    Brilliant review, was a great read. Made me giggle at points. I shall have an interview up on here with Delphic in the near future, keep an eye out!

  2. eraser carver January 11, 2010 at 22:40 #

    OK, so you mentioned the magic words “Daft Punk” and I had to go and listen to Delphic. On ‘Acolyte’ currently and loving it. Thanks for the new music.

  3. adfunk101 January 12, 2010 at 06:59 #

    Thanks Jessie, I’ll certainly keep an eye out for your interview, looking forward to it.

    Eraser, you’re very welcome. Glad you’re enjoying it too.

    adfunk101

  4. easilyledbutnoteasilypleased January 12, 2010 at 07:43 #

    I do like dance music and when I can get the time from working I will give this a whirl. Your review made me want to dV8 from my usual taste and try the chocolate cake donut that is your taste. Hmmmmm donuts…. 🙂

  5. Mr Smith January 16, 2010 at 10:48 #

    So you like it???
    I wasn’t quite sure.
    OK, on first listen this morning, Counterpoint seems to me to be the track that’ll find its way onto the ‘best of the year’ CD.
    All in all – yup, its good, I’m not sure its great though. I can see the Bloc Party thing, and the New order (although “New Order Lite” I think) but to me it sounds a bit more like this year’s Friendly Fires. Mind you, that was an album that really grew on me.
    Saw Delphic at Reading – good but need to work on the stage presence a bit…anway, excellent review!
    Peter

    • adfunk101 January 16, 2010 at 11:20 #

      Thanks Peter. If I’m being honest, I have come down from my initial Monday morning euphoria on this but I still think it’s really good. I agree with the Friendly Fires analogy, and indeed I even alluded to it on my Twitter earlier in the week 🙂 (you’ll have to follow me).
      Thanks again for the comment, check back later for thoughts on Ellie Goulding and a 3rd party review of last night Vampire Weekend instore at Rough Trade East.

  6. little me January 17, 2010 at 22:45 #

    to be honest, i never heard of Delphic till i read your review. I am hoping I can plug this in and experience a monday like yours when you first heard it 🙂
    i bought the album 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Album reviews Jan 2010 - January 24, 2010

    […] No.  Are they going to be as big as Bloc Party?  Perhaps, and that comparison from my friend here is perceptive.  The New Order comparison on reflection is more valid than I first thought although […]

  2. Review: Suzuki/Method – Native EP | Alphabet Bands - October 25, 2013

    […] before this blog developed into the site it is today, we heard and fell in love with an album by a band from Manchester. That album helped pave the way for a resurgence in a hybrid indie-dance-rock-pop sound that saw […]

Leave a Reply

