Watch: Plan B – “ill Manors”

13 Mar

“Too many protest singers, not enough protest songs”.

In a dazzling volte face from his Strickland Banks persona, Plan B has returned to his rap roots and is spitting fury and social commentary the likes of which has not been seen in the UK for far too long. Simply put, this could well be the most important piece of music released this year.

There is a lot of hype, controversy, misreporting and bullshit surrounding this track so we urge you, take time to not only listen to the song, to watch the video, but spend 15 minutes with the Plan B interview below where he explains his thought process behind the song and what he is trying to represent. One thing it is not, is the glorification of violence and gang culture.

Plan B interview on Radio 1Xtra

3 Responses to “Watch: Plan B – “ill Manors””

  1. Adam S March 13, 2012 at 22:58 #

    Most exciting thing in the UK right now. Deserves a lot of plaudits and credit for sticking with his promise to return to rap.

    The best thing I’ve heard in 2012.

    • Adam H March 13, 2012 at 23:09 #

      I agree. I was blown away not only by the precision with which he has dissected the perceptions of certain social classes on another, but it is a such a fantastic track as well.

      It’s compulsive in sound and content. I am entirely engaged in this and wanting to hear more.

      Didn’t get that from Stickland Banks, that’s for sure.

  2. name not supplied March 24, 2012 at 20:07 #

    I accept what he is saying in the video, and no, I dont think he is glorifying gang culture or condoning the riots. I dont think he is saying everyone who grows up in poverty or with uneducated parents somehow doesn’t know that nicking trainers is wrong but I get what he’s saying about social structure and the fueling the fire of being socially outcast by where you live, but mmmmm…not sure I would go as far as to say its the same as race/sexuality. There is a small element of choice (and it IS small, most do stay where they are) to remain in the ‘class’ you grew up in. You are not afforded a choice wrt your race or sexuality, you are who you are. I try so hard to not let my upbringing define who I am. I AM working class, from a council estate, from a violent family and two of my family live literally round the corner from where we grew up. I love them and I dont see them or myself as ‘Chavs’ though I accept other people would….I now live in my own house, in a quiet leafy suburb and I have two degrees…it was my choice to leave, and theirs to stay.
    But the track is very thought provoking, well done Him.

Leave a Reply

